Association News

What's New with the GOA

Southern College of Optometry (SCO) to Offer Injection Certification Course in August 2019

SCO is again offering its Georgia State Board of Optometry-approved injections certification course in 2019. Registration is OPEN for this course, which will take place on August 15-18. This 4-day, 30 hour education and certification training event is being held at the Georgia Tech Hotel and Conference Center in Atlanta, GA. This is the only Georgia State Board of Optometry approved coursework for the certification for the use of injectables.

All 30 hours of this coursework is approved by the Georgia State Board as credit toward relicensure. Credits can also be used for Board Certification renewal.

Register HERE .

This will be the only certification class offered for 2019. Payment plans can be arranged through the GOA Office.

Job Openings

FT/PT OD Needed

Seeking FT or PT associate optometrist for established high-tech medically centered private practice in Douglas, GA. Competitive pay, bonus plan, and benefits. Send resume to or call 912-501-9224.

FT OD Needed

Atlanta Eye Group is seeking a FT OD for multiple LensCrafters practices in Atlanta. We offer competitive pay with daily bonuses and benefits. New grads welcome. Please email resume to

Welcome New Members

  • Dr. Michael Roberts, Greater Atlanta District
  • Dr. Samantha McIntosh, Greater Atlanta District
  • Dr. Mohamed Eid, Greater Atlanta District
  • Dr. Julia Harrison, 2nd District
  • Dr. Lashaundra Dangerfield, 9th District
  • Dr. Julie Poteet, Greater Atlanta District